SOUTHEND-ON-SEA CITY COUNCIL

Meeting of The Council

Date: Thursday, 21st March, 2024 Place: Council Chamber - Civic Suite

Present: Councillor S Habermel (Chair)

Councillors K Robinson, B Beggs, M Berry, M Borton, H Boyd, K Buck, S Buckley, P Collins, D Cowan, T Cowdrey, T Cox, M Davidson, A Dear, F Evans, N Folkard, D Garston, S George, J Harland, L Hyde, A Jones, D Jones, J Lamb, A Line, R McMullan, J Moyies, C Mulroney, M O'Connor, M Sadza, M Stafford, M Terry, S Wakefield, N Ward, J Warren, P Wexham, R Woodley, S Aylen, C Campbell, O Cartey, C Nevin, D Richardson and K Murphy

Start/End Time: 5.30 pm - 6.18 pm

114 Apologies for Absence

Apologies for absence were received from Councillors Courtenay, Burton, Dent, Gilbert, Jarvis, Leroy, Longstaff, Nelson and Walker.

115 Declarations of Interest

All Councillors – Minute 116 (Honorary Alderman Award) - in so far as they may know or have served on the Council with the recipients for Honorary Alderman.

116 Honorary Alderman Awards

Councillor Cox proposed (seconded by Councillor Cowan) that Mr Roger Weaver be admitted as Honorary Alderman.

Councillor Cowan proposed (seconded by Councillor Cox) that Mr Mike Royston be admitted as Honorary Alderman.

It was unanimously resolved:

That, pursuant to Section 249(1) of the Local Government Act 1972, the title of Honorary Alderman be conferred upon Mr Roger Weaver and Mr Mike Royston in recognition of their eminent services to the Council.

117 Freedom of the City Award

Councillor Cox proposed (seconded by Councillor Cowan) that Mr Kevin Maher be admitted as Honorary Freeman of the City of Southend-on-Sea.

It was unanimously resolved:

That Mr Kevin Maher, be admitted as the Honorary Freeman of the City of Southend-on-Sea, pursuant to S.249(5) of the Local Government Act 1972, being a person of distinction who has rendered eminent services to Southend-on-Sea.

Chair: